Process work

I found Art Without Compromise in the library and although I’ve only read the first few chapters so far, I found a neat exercise to do. It involved making photocopies of whatever grabbed me from the last ten years of my sketchbooks:

photo of a pile of sketchbooks

I then pasted those randomly into another small sketchbook and have been picking it up from time to time and examining the themes, styles and ideas that pop out at me. The result has been an interesting book work in itself. I find myself finding narrative in it and generating stories from all the old ideas. Here’s a little glimpse:

photo of sketchbook
photo of sketchbook
photo of sketchbook
Leave a Reply

