In the breeze

When the chores pile up there is nothing to do but… well, chores. That doesn’t mean however, that you can’t take a break to paint them. I remember Danny Gregory‘s advice for the “too-busy person” on how to make time for sketching, I read it in one of his books: draw those dishes just before you do them, draw your food as you eat it etc.

So maybe you can tell I’ve become a very busy person recently and seem to be working on rather small pieces… and I am, just trying to satisfy that itch to create even when there doesn’t seem to be any time. I  really must add though, that I think it is just as important to do the little sketches and record simple moments of beauty in small paintings as it is to make the big works that take more time and planning. Each type of painting works in its own way, allows me to express completely different feelings and thoughts as well as process things differently. I hope you can see the value in the different types of paintings I’m creating too.

This one may be slightly less successful than my last laundry painting since there is far less colour contrast, but I rather enjoy how the whites are billowing and blending into the sky. I find it calming and peaceful and hope you do too.

oil painting of white laundry on a line in a yard

In the breeze, oil on canvas, 6 x 6"

Leave a Reply

