A morning painting adventure…

I had a wonderful morning adventure in my car which involved nearly running over a meter-long snake (phew, I didn’t) and watching cows, birds, rabbits and stray cats roaming the plains.

Here is one of two sketches I did from the passenger seat, trying not to get oil paint all over the dashboard and armrests! I had to work both canvases quickly before the day got too hot and unbearable. I packed a cooler-bag of ice water but still got a little dizzy in the open. I drove home after two hours and completed the paintings at home in the comfortable air-conditioned studio. I’ll post the other canvas tomorrow…

oil painting of a bird on a fence post in the desert

Bird on a Post, oil on canvas, 8 x 10"

Leave a Reply

