En plein air by the fence

This is another painting done from the passenger seat of my car. Early morning I drive around trying to find a piece of shade to park in, open all the windows, set up the metallic window shade, hop into the passenger seat and set up my palette from the oil paints in the bin by my feet. Then I paint for an hour or two while guzzling ice water from a thermos and trying not to get too much paint on the interior of the car…

After this I explore a bit more looking for spots I might like to paint the following day before heading home to finish the oil sketch or work on bigger canvases in the studio.

oil painting of tree and fence in new mexico

By the Fence, oil on canvas, 8 x 10"

Leave a Reply

