Artistic Extravagance

This flower brightened up the drudgery of grocery shopping for me today. I saw it behind the glass in the flower section on my way to produce and it stopped me in my tracks. I paused, leaning on the handle of my shopping cart and just admired it for a while. I thought about how the center of my wedding bouquet was also a Gerbera daisy. After a few moments I snapped out of it and took two more steps towards the produce section but paused again and looked back. Then there was an audible sigh. Then I walked back, plucked the peach flower from the vase of Gerberas, laid it on top of my carton of organic eggs and carried on my merry way.

And for those of you who know me, it was also a unique day in that I felt extra zing and actually bought a bottle of grey/brown/purple nail polish (pictured here). That makes two non-essentials in one shopping trip! What extravagance!

What simple joy.

watercolor painting of gerbera daisy

Gerbera Daisy, watercolour on board, 4 x 4"

Leave a Reply

