Dying Yarn and Roving

Hi folks! I wanted to share a series of photos with you that I took to document my first endeavor into dying yarn and roving. The big long strip of wool before it is spun into yarn is called roving. I spun the yarn pictured here using a drop spindle. I am still learning to use a spinning wheel but may post pictures of that process soon.

Roving in its natural color from the sheep before I spun it

This is the yarn I spun from the roving above

Using a drop spindle (not the same roving)

Part of the dying process using food coloring

Final product

A braid of roving before it is dyed

Wet, dyed roving ready to spin as soon as it dries

One thought on “Dying Yarn and Roving

Leave a Reply

