30 Day Drawing Challenge: Day 1

I saw this pin on pinterest and decided to give it a go. “30 Day Drawing Challenge”: why not?

Now, I’ve decided to show you my process even though it is a little embarrassing… because I’m cool that way. Below you will see my attempts at Day One’s challenge: “yourself”. Please keep in mind I haven’t been in the practice of drawing lately (and insert sheepish smile here).

First attempt. This one captures my eye best (that’s totally my eye) but look at that giant jaw and mouth! Hahahahaha. And I just ran out of space in general (squishy forehead).

portrait drawing graphite

Attempt #1

Next attempt. I made this one very quickly and just didn’t have the proportions right. I don’t think it resembles me very much. Tant pis. My drawing hand is warming up a bit more at this point and I’m less stiff than attempt #1.

graphite drawing self portrait

Attempt #2

Third attempt exhibits some nice proportion but I still don’t recognize myself in it. Often when you draw yourself you idealize your features (I think this happens when you draw other people too sometimes). That’s probably what happened here. Oh well… I still quite like the scribbly-ness of it and enjoy it as a drawing in itself.

graphite self portrait drawing

Third attempt

The point is to attempt all 30 days of the drawing challenge… warm my hand back up, get expressive… not necessarily produce perfect results. Okay? Okay. 🙂

Tomorrow’s challenge: favorite animal…

Leave a Reply

