Fabric Landscape Study 4

Today’s painting was really fun to make.

In case you’re wondering why I’m calling these still-lives landscapes, I just think it doesn’t hurt to look at things in different ways. Yes, I am painting little piles of fabric in my studio, but I’m shading slopes and folds and peaks in the same way I would paint hills and valleys and sunlight…

I haven’t painted as much still-lives as I have landscapes, portraits and nature scenes…  but looking at these little piles of things in my studio as if they were enormous worlds in themselves is providing endless inspiration for me.  For instance, this little stack reminded me of a mini-version of the Leaning Tower of Pisa. I wanted to name it “Leaning Tower of Fabric” but am saving that name for a higher, more “leany” tower which I may paint tomorrow…

 
Fabric Landscape Study 4, oil/canvas, 8 x 10"

Fabric Landscape Study 4, oil/canvas, 8 x 10″

One thought on “Fabric Landscape Study 4

Leave a Reply

