Cat on a Quilt on a Wall

Hello again! It has been a productive week in the studio, what with finishing Quilted Lake and now getting to complete a second painting.

This one was started  a while back  and wasn’t working for me so it was set aside and stared at it with a gloomy expression for a few months. In that time ideas popped up and swam around with all the other detritus in my brain until finally something more solid was able to form…

I knew I had a few pictures somewhere of an outdoor cat named “Butters” sitting on our neighbor’s roof. I had taken them over two years ago when we lived in a different neighborhood and Butters and I spent a lot of time together. (Some of you already know of Butters. I’ve posted some photos of him on this blog before. I pretended he was mine, but he was owned/fed by some people a few houses down. I’m not sure how much affection they gave him though because he would come running down the road when he heard my car or bike and demand pats.)

I dug around a bit on my computer and found the photos I remembered. Then I did more digging around and found about five or six other photographs to use as resources to invent this landscape as it had formed in my mind.

Here are some process pictures from yesterday and today:

Cat on a Quilt on a Wall, in progress

The canvas before becoming “Cat on a Quilt on a Wall”

Cat on a Quilt on a Wall, in progress 2

Cat on a Quilt on a Wall, in progress 

Cat on a Quilt on a Wall, oil/canvas, 16 x 20"

Cat on a Quilt on a Wall, oil/canvas, 16 x 20″

Leave a Reply

