Morning Glories

I had a great painting day today. The subject matter just sort of came to me and before I even thought about it I had already gone outside, plucked some morning glories off my vines and begun painting! That’s the joy about studies: I try not to think too much about them. The whole point of studies is just to get me in there and working, free up my hand and warm up my eyes.

The fun part was realizing that I had a small window of time before the blooms completely closed up. The three of them sit now in my studio in their jar, all closed up and looking like they’re huddled to keep warm in the middle of a snow storm. Tomorrow I expect to see them open and smiling happily back at me again.

Morning Glories, oil/canvas, 8 x 10"

Morning Glories, oil/canvas, 8 x 10″

Leave a Reply

