A Warm November Sketchbook Sunday

I enjoyed a long walk this morning and into the afternoon, camera, sketchbook and watercolors on hand. I packed a sweatshirt in case there was cloud cover or I had to sit for an extended period of time in the shade. I often listen to a book on tape while I walk but today I wanted no distractions. I was on an “art date” and mission for inspiration. I focused on shadows and alleys, piles of junk and animals. Sometimes I just look for mobile homes, or trucks or adobe architecture.

Here are two sketches for the “Portraits of Portales” series. I’ve added this series as a “gallery” on my website dodington.us but it will likely take me some time to scan in and upload all the paintings and sketches I have so far, so check back every few months.

November Adobe, watercolor and graphite on paper, 5 x 7"

November Adobe, watercolor and graphite on paper, 5 x 7″

Garage, watercolor and graphite on paper, 5 x 7"

Garage, watercolor and graphite on paper, 5 x 7″

Leave a Reply

