Sunday at Sunset

Today’s en plein air experience started with my husband making us dinner. Thank you Elliott. I could smell the ratatouille-like dish for a few hours as it simmered on the stove. I cleaned the studio, primed new canvases, swept floors and sang along loudly to songs way above my natural vocal range. It was a good afternoon.

Along with the ratatouille-like dish, Elliott made yellow split peas and quinoa. I decided such a lovely meal should be eaten outside in the warm New Mexico sun on our back patio. As we enjoyed the meal we listened to the non-stop cooing of doves. I watched two doves above us who sat with their backs to the sun, perhaps watching us. They were there this afternoon and I seem to remember them there during this past week as well. This made me feel they were not likely to re-locate any time soon… maybe this is a favourite spot for them? I got my paint box, worked up a little study and finished just as the sun fell below the horizon and the colours in the yard changed. Good timing!

I had to take some pictures right away, I was that excited about how the painting turned out. It will be going up for auction on dailypaintworks.com today.

Sunday at Sunset, oil on canvas, 6 x 6"

Sunday at Sunset, oil on canvas, 6 x 6″ 

Painting resting on some pots

Painting resting on some pots

Just after the sun disappeared

Just after the sun disappeared

Posted in: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

