Plein Air Journal – Elida, New Mexico

Just a half-an-hour drive down the highway from Portales lies the tiny town of Elida. The 2000 census reported 183 residents and I’m fairly certain there are fewer today. Despite its diminutive size the town has bright storefronts (all of them closed), giant shady trees and lots of artfully scattered abandoned farm equipment. It’s a painters paradise really. Today was a blustery one so I painted from the passenger seat of my car.

The view with my palette on the dashboard

The view with my palette on the dashboard

Just starting out with the washes...

Just starting out with the washes…

Painting in progress resting in the driver's seat while I stretch my legs.

Painting in progress resting in the driver’s seat while I stretch my legs.

Finished painting

Finished painting, 11 x 14″ oil on board

Posted in: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

