Plein Air Journal: Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument

I spent this past weekend in Santa Fe and despite the chill found time to make a small 6 x 6″ study from the rooftop of my hotel in the late afternoon sun. The sky was really interesting and changing every minute.

On Sunday I joined other Plein Air Painters of New Mexico (PAPNM) on a paintout to Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument to absorb more of this state’s stunning geological formations. There was a cave at the top of one of the hikes that was used by prehistoric peoples. The charred ceiling of the cave is evidence of their fires. The layers in this formation erode at different speeds and this created a bench inside the cave. How I longed to climb up and sit in it! I’m sure everyone who visits feels that way.

I enjoyed my hike and commune with the landscape but because the park was quite busy with hikers and people moving through I actually drove to another more secluded spot where I fell in love with the shadowy cliffs (below).

In the top right corner you can see another PAPNM member under her white umbrella painting the tent rocks.

If you would like more frequent updates on my works in progress or other inspirational occurrences in my day-to-day life, find me on  <a href=”https://www.instagram.com/jdodington/”>Instagram</a>  (jdodington) where I make frequent photo posts. It’s free to make an account and you don’t have to post actively in order to follow people and enjoy their photographs.

Posted in: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

